Friday, November 11, 2011

Champion's Mix for Dazed Digital


Descending into underground of UK Funky, for his exclusive Dazed mix, DJ Champion, a self confessed ‘bassline freak’ spins in a selection of raw and rugged rhythm from his own productions to new releases from artists on his label Formula. For those already down with Champion production’s Lighter EP will be a familiar weapon of choice, with heaps decent air time on 1xtra and in Alex Bok Bok, Ben UFO and Roska sets. In fact the king of funky was so hooked to what he heard he signed Champion to his Kicks & Snares label, a collaboration which needless to say will see many releases in the near future. What really makes Champion’s EP’s work though is that even Grime DJs, usually averse to the Fruity Loops sound, will play his records, again and again. So to those unfamiliar prepare yourself for a muscular percussion section, with seductive stripped back drums and a ‘good gracious bodacious’ 130BPM bass line.

Track list:

01 Princess Nyah "Crazy (Champion Dub)" (CDR)
02 Champion "Lighter VIP" (Formula)
03 Funkystepz "Trouble" (Hyperdub)
04 Notion "Watch Here" (Formula)
05 Champion "War Dance" (RKS)
06 Notion "Untitled" (Formula)
07 S-Tee "Crunk VIP" (Formula)
08 Ill Blu "Meltdown" (Numbers)
09 Roska "Jackpot" (Rinse)
10 Champion and Ruby Lee Ryder "Sensitivity" (Formula)
11 Champion "Selectah" (RKS)
12 Champion "Tun Up Di Bass" (Formula)
13 Platnum "Signals (Champion's Gassed Up Mix)" (AATW)
14 Funkystepz "Shocker" (F.L.Y)
15 Champion "Lose Control" (Hardrive)
16 Serious :"Ghost" (Formula)
17 Mosca "Bax" (Numbers)
18 TRC "Oo Aa Ee (Royal-T's I <3 Garage 130 Mix)" (Butterz)
19 Terror Danjah and Ruby Lee Ryder "Full Attention" (Hardrive)
20 Terror Danjah and D.O.K "Morph 2" (Hyperdub)