Tuesday, March 01, 2011

FACT mix 226 - Photek (Influences Mix)

FACT mix 226 - Photek (Feb '11) by factmag

Renowned for his impeccable drum programming, Photek had already been releasing singles for several years when, in 1997, he released Modus Operandi, his legendary first album and a record remarkable as much for its atmosphere, restraint and measured, ice-tipped grooves as its potential to send dancefloors wild. 2011 has seen Photek back with a vengeance that fans haven’t seen in years, releasing a new EP this month, Avalanche, and working on remixes for Daft Punk and Ray LaMontagne as well commissioning mixes of his own material by Boddika, Breach and Addison Groove. According to his people, there’s more new Photek material to come, and so what better time for a FACT mix than now.

Track list:

1. Sueno Latino – Sueno Latino (DFC)
2. Mr. Fingers – Can You Feel It (Trax)
3. LFO – LFO (Leeds Warehouse Mix) (Warp)
4. Renegade Soundwave – The Phantom (Mute)
5. Easymo – Nightmare (D-Zone)
6. Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force – Planet Rock (Tommy Boy)
7. Nightmares on Wax – Dextrous (Warp)
8. Leftfield – Not Forgotten (Hard Hands Remix) (Outer Rhythm)
9. Joey Beltram – Energy Flash (Transmat)
10. Meat Beat Manifesto – Radio Babylon (Nothing Records)
11. Liberty City – Some Lovin’ (Murk)
12. Funky Green Dogs from Outerspace – Reach for Me (Murk)
13. Reese & Santonio – Rock to the Beat (FFRR)
14. Richie Rich – Salsa House (FFRR)