Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Guest Mix By Law "Deep Jungle 1993-1996"

Via Two Hungry Ghosts:

The second inguest mix series features a brand new set from vinyl collector, blogger and drum and bass authority Law. Here he captures a time that we are extremely passionate about, deep jungle from 1993-1996.

He says: "There was a period (roughly) between 1993 to 96 where jungle was not only atmospheric or dark, but it had an other worldly, sci-fi feel. Labels like Deejay, Lucky Spin, Legend, Timeless, Rugged Vinyl and others captured this spacey, blissed-out vibe. A quality that now seems more or less extinct within the contemporary drum and bass scene. I tried to select tunes for this mix that represent the broad spectrum of this sound. With brooding, dark tracks like 'Fury' and 'Genesis Project' to the more calming, deep sounds of 'Intalect' and 'Traveling Pt 2'.
There is a feeling of nervous mystery and wonder to these tunes, as if they could be the soundtrack to that part of a sci-fi film where the human protagonists discover a new world, a mystery accelerated by the fact that these sounds now only exist in the past."

Check him here:

View his blog here:

Track list:

01. Lucida - Tunnel Vision - Production House
02. Chuck E - Fantasy - White House
03. Mysteron - U Don't Know - Timeless
04. D.O.P.E. - Travelling Pt 2 - Good Looking
05. DJ Monita - The Party (Remix) - Skeleton Recordings
06. Skanna - Greatest Thing - Skanna
07. DJ Pulse - Stay Calm (Foul Play Remix) - Moving Shadow
08. Rufige Kru - Fury - Moving Shadow
09. DJ Fokus - Trigger Happy - Lucky Spin
10. DJ Fokus - Pulse - Lucky Spin
11. Intense - The Genesis Project - Rugged Vinyl
12. Orca - Intalect - Lucky Spin
13. Sounds Of Life - Don't Resist The Beat - Certificate 18
14. System X - Move Yourself - 3rd Eye
15. The Invisible Man - The Beginning - Timeless